Stuffed Chicken Breast

20140120_193040

Last night I was looking through my ever thinning kitchen (payday is Friday)  and trying to figure out what to make with the ingredients we have.  I have been thinking about stuffed chicken breast for a while, and realized we had enough to make it that night.  The last time I made it years ago, I used goat cheese, spinach and garlic as my filling.  That was before I was married I believe, and it was the first candle lit dinner my now husband and I have ever had.

This time we had cream cheese instead so I used that.

I get Foster Farms 10 lb bags of frozen chicken breasts at Costco…and the breasts are HUGE!   I thawed out two breasts and got my filling ready.

The filling was super easy.  I sauteed some 3 cloves of garlic (lets say one or two in the future though) in a little butter.  Once that is done, throw in a large handful of spinach to wilt a little in the butter.  Once it  wilts just a little, starts turning bright green, throw the mix in the food processor with 8 oz of cream cheese (it probably could have been less).

I butterflied two chicken breasts, and split the filling between two chicken breasts.  It could probably be up to four breasts for that much filling as mine were over filled.  I used my hands to try to shape a pad of the cream cheese mixture to fit into the breast. I opened up the chicken breast and filled it up.  then I did my best to close it around the filling, and placed them into a hot pan with some butter and olive oil. I seared one side, and the other side.  Once both sides looked nice and golden brown, I put the pan into the oven at 400 degrees for 25 minutes.  Once the internal temp of the meat was 160 degrees.  The chicken opened up and some of the filling came pouring out which turned out amazing with the next step.  🙂

I put a slice or two of cheddar on top of the chicken, and broiled it until the cheese was melted and bubbly.  This caused the filling that had poured out to crisp up, and become very savory.  This also firmed up the filling and made it easier to to take out of the pan and place on a plate.

What I love most is that this entire recipe only takes 5-6 ingredients  and is actually really really easy!

stuffed chicken breasatThe chicken came out perfectly moist.  It looked nice and the flavors were great together!

3 tablespoons butter

2-4 chicken breasts

2 cups in spinach

3 cloves garlic (1-2 is good)

Leave a Reply

