Miracle Fettuccine ????

 

DSC_0209

I got some miracle noodles in my last batch from Iherb.com, and they were herb and garlic fettuccine noodles.  So tonight, I tried to make fettuccine alfredo with them.  I used three packages of Miracle Noodles, and made an awesome almond milk Alfredo sauce.

The first thing I did was cook up two chicken breasts in a little olive oil and butter.  Once they were crusty and golden brown, I removed them from the pan, and put in one sliced white onion and some garlic.  I sliced up the chicken, and threw it back into the pan.  Next I added 5 cups of homemade almond milk.  I let it simmer for 10 minutes or so until the sauce started thickening up.  I rinsed off about a cup of marinated/rinsed and chopped artichoke hearts.  I added about 1/3  cup of grated parmasan cheese, and salt, pepper, oregano, thyme, and parsley to taste.

I opened and rinsed the noodles under hot water, and sprinkled a tablespoon of flour into the sauce just to get it a little thicker.  Then I put the noodles into the sauce, and let it simmer for a minute. I flavored with a little chicken bouillon and it was perfect!

I was looking forward to trying this, although had a  little trepidation because I was not sure if the texture of this noodle would really hold up to a cream sauce.  It turns out that the trepidation was well founded, as the texture was really really off, and I found myself craving starchy noodly goodness!

SO, my experiment didn’t work  as I had hoped.  The sauce is amazing, but not with the particular noodles that I made.  In fact, for lunch tomorrow, I am going to make some pasta for lunch tomorrow and make another batch of the sauce.

3 packages of Herb and Garlic Miracle Noodles (My suggestion is skip these and use a nice whole wheat pasta or even make your own)

5 cups almond milk

1 large onion

2 chicken breasts

2 tablespoons of crushed garlic (more or less to taste)

1 1/2 cups of marintated (or any kind) artichoke hearts

salt, pepper, oregano, thyme, and parsley to taste

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

First cook the chicken in the oil and butter until it is golden brown and crusty on both sides.  Then take it out and while it is resting, slice up one large onion and toss it in the pan with the left over oil.  Slice up the chicken and add it back to the pan.  Pour in all of the almond milk, and simmer until reduced by 1/3 to 1/2 stirring every few minutes and scraping the bottom of the pan.  sprinkle a teaspoon of flour in at a time until it begins to thicken I didn’t use more than a tablespoon.  Grate in parmasan cheese, and continue stirring.  Also add the artichoke hearts, and let cook for just a few minutes.  Once the sauce is done, add the noodles into the pan.  Once they are all mixed together you can serve.

The sauce is so easy, and on real noodles it tastes amazing.  However, this meal was very low in carbs and had lots of protein in it.  I have not figured out the WW numbers, but this honestly can’t be too bad!

Leave a Reply

