Hippie Potato Soup!

 

I am known in my family and circle of friends for my amazing potato soup.  I have made it for Christmas, and been told I could trade staying the night at a friend’s house for feeding her family soup.  My husband HATED potato soup before he met me, now he loves the stuff!

I have never really written my soup recipe down, as it changes every time based on what I have in the house at the time.  It usually consists of cream, or at least milk, potatoes, onions,  garlic, and if I have it broccoli and some sort of leafy veggie such as kale or spinach. It has reminded people in the past of the Olive Garden’s Zuppa Tuscana soup.

Well it is the soup time of year again, and I have already made a few.  Tonight however, I really wanted to make some potato soup. I do however, have a cold this week, and this is the most terrable time for me to eat cream.  For one I am allergic to it, but for two, when I am sick it really congests me.  So, I decided to alter my recipe to both accommodate my illness, and accommodate the food that I have in the house.  Thus the reason for the name, Hippie Potato Soup.  I used what my husband and I (being from Portland, Oregon) might call hippie food.  I wound up making almond milk potato soup without much dairy, and it was thicker and creamier than almost every cream based soup I have ever made.  I am sorry I forgot to take photos, my kitchen is a mess right now, and there was no room for the camera in there!

Here is the recipe for my Hippie Potato Soup:

5 cups of water (or just enough to cover the potatoes chopped up in a pot)

1 cup of silken tofu

2 small/medium onions

2 slices of bacon for every person you are serving

1 crown of broccoli

about 2 oz of cheddar cheese (I used 72 grams, the end of my loaf)

3 bouillon cubes

5 medium potatoes

3 cups of almond milk (separate one cup out)

garlic to taste (I probably used 3 cloves)

1 medium to large carrot

various herbs and spices.

First, wash and peel potatoes.  chop them up in quarters, then in bite sized pieces from there.  Chop the carrot into bite sized pieces as well.  I quartered the carrot then sliced it smaller from there.  Fill the pot with just enough water to cover the potatoes, carrots, and  3 bouillon cubes and let them boil until almost soft.  Cook bacon in a frying pan until crispy.  Drain some of the bacon grease leaving just enough to cover the bottom of the pan.  Chop up onions, garlic, and broccoli, and fry them up in the bacon grease until the onions are transparent, and the broccoli starts to change to bright green.  Take it off and let the veggies drain in paper towels until potatoes are soft.  when they are, add the veggies and 2 cups of almond milk to the soup.  Add the last cup as well as the cup of tofu to the blender, and blend them well to make sure the tofu is not lumpy.  Also add this to the soup.  Season to your liking, and let the soup thicken for maybe five minutes before removing from the heat.  It should have thickened up a lot.  Stir to make sure the  bottom does not start to burn if you are boiling.  I then cut up 72 oz of cheddar cheese, and with the very thick soup, it melted beautifully.  I crumble the bacon over the top of the bowl.

I seasoned with parsley, thyme, rosemary, salt, pepper, chili powder and Tobasco.  I do like this soup spicy, and I didn’t have any spicy sausage to put into the soup, so I threw the Tobasco in.  It was the kick it needed and it tasted amazing!  I love this almond milk and tofu for thickening soups thing!

One bowl is only 8 WW plus points!

2 thoughts on “Hippie Potato Soup!

Leave a Reply

