Steak and Cream Please

One of these days you might be able to actually tell that I am on a diet.  Today might be one of them, or it may not…but I am going to post a delicious recipe that I made last week.  Creamy pasta and steak.  I had planned on making a nice spinach salad with steak, and a nice blueberry balsamic vinegarette dressing.  However, my husband wanted a creamy pasta.  So I compromised and used all the veggies in a pasta and cream sauce that I would have used in the salad.

first a cut up the roast I had, and cooked it up in a pan until well done (you can make that however you want, we like ours well).

And I removed it from the pan.  I next heated up 2 tablespoons of butter until it melted, and added 2 tablespoons of whole wheat flour (I don’t have white flour in my house, but either would work).

Next I added one diced up onion, two different bell peppers, and some garlic. (I didn’t say it would have been the most exciting salad, but colorful!)

Once those things were cooked in the pan, then I added about three cups of almond milk.  I let it boil stirring occasionally until the sauce had thickened.  Once the sauce was almost done, I chopped up the spinach into bite sized pieces, and put it into the sauce and stirred.  Spinach cooks down really quickly, so it did not need much time.

Lastly, I chopped up some raw almonds.

I put some pasta on a plate (1 cup = 1 serving of 8 points for WW folks)

then I added the sauce (also one cup)

and arranged the steak over the top (one serving size-ish~as I didn’t have a scale yet)

Finally, I sprinkled 1 teaspoon of almonds over the top.

Easy cheesy but delishous!  I am a huge fan of making almond milk Alfredo sauces!  They are so delicious and you don’t have to feel the slightest bit guilty eating all that cheese butter or cream!  ❤

Anyway, Enjoy!

PS   19 points for one serving for dinner.

Leave a Reply

