Packed and Ready to Blow!

Today I was going through Pinterest and trying t find some awesome weight watchers recipes.  I came across enchilada stuffed peppers and in a separate recipe oven roasted potatoes.  I asked my husband what he wanted, and he said he would prefer the enchiladas   I was not surprised as I know he loves Mexican food.  However, I was not going to try and figure out how to make enchilada sauce, nor did I really feel like fallowing the recipe.  So after a quick glance on Laloosh.com, and realizing that I can’t get ingredients like quinoa, I decided to make up my own recipe.

First, I cut the tops off of the peppers, and took out the stems, seeds, and ribs.  Then I boiled them for 2-3 minutes completely submerging them in the water.

Be very careful to pick these up with tongs when you pull them out of the water, and carefully dump the water back into the pot.  Don’t let boiling water splash all over the place.

Next I emptied the water out of that pot, and put in 1 cup of rice.  Then I put in three chicken breasts, 2 cups of grape tomatoes, 2 cups of onions, 1/2 a cup of pickled jalapenos 2  cloves of garlic, one package of taco seasoning, and one can of rinsed black beans.  I put in 2 cups of water, and I covered the pot and brought it to a boil.

.

Once it boiled, I turned the heat down to low.  I checked on it and stirred it a few times, which I know you are not supposed to do while cooking rice, but I did it anyway.

Once the rice was cooked, I took the lid off and shredded the chicken by using two forks.  I threw it back into the pot and added 2/3 of a cup of sour  cream. (1/2 of a cup would have been better).

Next I scooped it into the peppers, and put a 1.5 oz. of cheese on the first four.  (This recipe makes 8 but I don’t have 8 peppers right now)

Once they are all packeaged up with the lids and a little extra  cheese (still in that 1.5 oz), I put them into the oven on 375 for about 15 minutes.  This was mostly to get  everything hot again, and to melt and get the cheese all crusty and good.

And this is what came out of the oven:

I sprinkled a few dried cilantro leaves over the top.

Here is what it looks like cut in half!

They have so much flavor and taste amazing!  Best of all, each pepper is only 6 weight watchers points!  I have to admit I was a bit shocked with all the dairy, but not bad!

Leave a Reply

