Kiss Me, I’m Chocolate! (and banana, and peanut butter…)

Since my husband and I have been on Weight Watchers this past week,  I have noticed something lacking in my diet.  I really need a constant stream of protein throughout the day.  If I don’t have a good source of protein for lunch and dinner, and have enough, I get shaky, and start feeling sick and starving very quickly.  I decided last week that I needed to supplement somehow, because as much as I tried to bring 1 serving of nuts, or 1 serving of cheese just to try and cut the stabbing hunger pains, it was not working, and I really really did not want to revert back to my old habit of eating Korean Ramen every day.  My first day at work on WW, I was starving though, so I went to the store, bought a bowl, and went back to work to figure out the points.  Turns out that my favorite Ramen is 12 points!  12!!!!!  I was shocked!  I have been eating this almost every day for at least 6 or 7 months!  No wonder I need weight watchers!

So this weekend, I went to Costco, and bought some chocolate protein powder.  This is the stuff we found:

I don’t know if this is the powder or shake mix or what? But I knew it was protein.  so I got it!

I have spent much of the da today trying to figure out what to do with this 2.8 kg canister of chocolate powder, so I started with breakfast.  I made a fruit smoothie for my husband and I.  I put blueberries, strawberries, our daily vitamins, a banana, a cup of grape juice, two scoops of powder, and half of a cucumber into the blender along with a whole peeled orange.  It blended up nice, and creamy!  I was surprised I liked the chocolate flaovor in it, but I really did. I have been wanting to make my husband a good breakfast bar or something to make sure he has enough protein to get him through the day, and maybe just give him a quick grab snack…so I found some brownies using the protein powder, eggs, and baking powder.  The recipe is found here.  The I added to them a little by putting a Hershey’s Kiss into every brownie bar.  For WW people, this recipe is only 2 points!  However, I cannot eat eggs, and as I suspected while making this, it would be a bit eggy.  I was right.  My husband and I tried one, and I could not get past a bite, although my husband loved his.  They were gooey and really what a brownie should be, although they were not very thick.

Oh, I forgot, I did have to make some apple sauce for this recipe.  I cooked 2 apples peeled and sliced into small chunks in a pot with three cups of water, a teaspoon of cinnamon  and a sprinkle of nutmeg until the water had mostly evaporated off and the apples were soft.  Then I blended them to make a quick sauce.  This worked great, however the apple sauce came out the consistency of baby food, and now just needs to be used for cooking!  lol…oops!

A bit later, I found one more recipe that I wanted to try.  This one is for Chocolate Banana muffins.  Muffins are easy to grab in the mornings…I could get some serious heathy stuff into muffins, and still make it taste good!  After looking at several different recipes, I decided I needed to try this one from HomeBeccanomics.com

I had all of the ingredients in my house except for the yogurt, as I made yogurt today, and seeing that it takes HOURS to make yogurt, it was not ready yet.  I decided to make one substituteion, otherwise I made the recipe as stated.

First I put all of my dry ingredients together (I added the sugar now, although I was supposed to add it with the wet).

Then I mashed the bananas using a potato masher.  The recipe said use a fork, but I didn’t feel like wasting that kind of time.  Nore did I feel like assembling my food processor for this, which I may have done had my kitchen not had two different things going on at once!  Next I mixed in the wet ingredients with the bananas (accidentally forgetting the vanilla).

And now, can you see my big substituion?  Instead of Greek yogurt, I used peanut butter.  We had some Skippy Super Chunk in the house so I added it, and mixed well.  once the peanut butter we thoroughly mixed, I added the dry ingredients and stirred until it became a batter.  I filled each muffin tin up to the top after spraying it with some oil, and baked on 375 for 15-18 minutes.  Oh, but one more surprise…I baked it only after hiding a Kiss in the middle.

They rose very well and have the texture of a chocolate muffin.

I have a really tall muffin tin, and was only able to get nine muffins out of this recipe.  The original says you can get 12-14, which I totally believe if your tins are not as deep as mine.  I had hoped that one of these muffins would be an entire meal, with lots of protein, some carbs, good oils, some fruit, and even some fiber, so for those in the Weight Watchers universe, so you know, that if you get 9 muffins out of this as I did, they are worth 11 points each (I know that seems like a lot, but in the grand scheme of things we had e a difficult time using up all of our points by the end of the day at this point anyway.  If you make the intended 12 muffins, they are only 8 points.  Anyway, I hope you enjoy!

Chocolate Banana Protein Muffins

Makes 12-14

1 1/2 c. flour (all purpose or white whole wheat)

1/2 c. chocolate protein powder

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 c. sugar

2 eggs

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 c. greek nonfat (plain) yogurt

1/3 c. canola oil

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 c. walnuts, chopped

1/2 c. chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, protein powder, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

3. On a plate, mash bananas with a fork.

4. In a large bowl, whisk bananas, oil, sugar, vanilla, and yogurt until combined.

5. Fold dry ingredients into wet until half way mixed. Fold doesn’t just mean mix carefully. Folding is an actual technique. Cut down through the mixture with a rubber spatula and scrape the spatula toward you underneath the batter and flip the batter to the top. Turn the bowl a quarter turn and do it again. You are essentially folding the two ingredients together.

6. Add walnuts and chocolate and continue to fold until just combined.

7. Spray a 12 c. muffin tin with nonstick spray.

8. Divide batter evenly between the holes. I made 14 muffins. I used two silicon muffin liners that I placed on a cookie sheet below the muffins. 

9. Bake for 15-18 minutes, or until you touch the top of a muffin and it’s no longer wet. Whenever a recipe gives you two times, always set your oven for the LOWER time. You can always bake something more but you can never bake it LESS. 

10. Let cool in the tin for about five minutes, then remove to a wire wrack to cool completely.

These will keep at room temp for several days, or in the fridge for longer. They will freeze GREAT; put them in bags of two and take them out as you need them for breakfasts on-the-go!

Also, the perfect thing to eat after a workout is something that has carbs, protein, and healthy fats. This is the perfect post (or pre) workout snack! It’s protein comes from the powder (obvi), but also the greek yogurt, eggs and walnuts. Our walnuts and canola oil give us monounsaturated fat, which raises our HDL (GOOD cholesterol) and lowers our LDL (BAD cholesterol). The carbs are there in the flour and bananas.

Thank you HomeBeccanomics for the awesome recipe for using my protein powder!

5 thoughts on “Kiss Me, I’m Chocolate! (and banana, and peanut butter…)

  1. Hi, you could also replace the oil with unsweetened applesauce and bring down the points even more on quick breads and muffins like these. Over time, I started mixing applesauce and oil, and recently transitioned to applesauce only. Couldn’t tell the difference!

  2. Thanks. I live in Korea, so applesauce is something I have to plan…I can’t just go to the store and buy it. I have to make it every time. Oil is just easier, but in this particular recipe, I might have to see how that changes the points value…If I can lower the points but keep the recipe and flavor, I might just have to do that.

  3. Pingback: Egg McJessicas | Felkel Foodie

Leave a Reply

