Incredible Deliciousness…Herb Encrusted Beef, with Homemade Pasta

I have a back log of recipes to post, maybe 3-4 between last week and this, but I want to post this one while it is still fresh on my mind, as this it the first time I have posted my fresh pastas.  My husband and I started Weight Watchers this week.  We figured out our “point allowances” and since mine is drastically lower than his, I just have to drool when he can go back for seconds.  Well one benefit of doing the online program is that you get access to thousands of recipes on WeightWatchers.com.  Knowing that I had some beef thawed at my house, I went through some of their recipes until something caught my eye.  It was a recipe for herb crusted filet minion.  Granted I can’t afford that cut of beef in any part of the world, so I had to adjust to what I had…As I said before, the cut I get is mysterious to me, but today we are calling it a tenderloin, because that is what I put the points for on my points tracker today!

So, I planned the meal, made a few small changes in the recipe as I went along, and planned the pasta I would make with it.  When I created my own pasta recipe, it said my pasta was worth 10 points, but when I look up whole wheat pasta, it said it was worth 4 points.  I went with the 4 per cup!  I planned on tossing fresh whole wheat pasta with cherry tomatoes, basil, balsamic vinegar, and oil.  The meal was 13 points,

First when I started cooking, I started mixing oregano, basil, garlic, black pepper, rosemary, and a pinch of salt in a bowl.  I used maybe 2 tablespoons of garlic seasoning, and 2 teaspoons to 1 tablespoon of all the other herbs.  One teaspoon of black pepper, and just a pinch of salt.

Then I washed the meat, and started coating it.  I rubbed the seasoning mix into the meat, as I coated the whole chunk; top, bottom, and all sides with the seasoning mix.  Then I put it under a broiler for maybe 15 minutes on one side, and turned it over carefully to do another 15 minutes on the other side.  We like our meat well done, so that is 160-170 degrees farenheight.  If you like it a bit pinker, don’t let the meat get so hot!

while the beef was in the oven, I made fresh pasta.  I used two cups of Bob’s Red Mill whole wheat flour, 2 teaspoons of olive oil, and I mixed them together with my fingers until the oil was well incorporated. then I added in a teaspoon of water at a time, mixing with my hands until a stiff dough was formed.  I added just a little too much water, so I had to keep adding flour to keep the dough from being too sticky going through the pasta roller.  Anyway, I kneeded the dough until well mixed, and pulled a small amount off.  I ran it through the pasta roller to get a sheet, going down to 5 on how thin I made it (6 is the thinnest my roller goes).  After rolling the dough out into sheets, I cut it into small rectangles, and pinched the centers…I love making bow tie pasta, it is so much fun!  I boiled it for maybe three minutes before straining.  I cooked it in batches so it didn’t all stick together in the pot, and once it was all drained, I poured in 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of balsamic vinegar, a generous sprinkling of dried basil, and a cup of halved cherry tomatoes.

*Note, I was starving and forgot to take any pictures before we scarfed down this meal.  I used all of the fresh cherry tomatoes, so for the one in this picture, I used marinated, dried cherry tomatoes.  I will post that recipe soon.

The meal was savory, and rather filling.  I am sorry I don’t have more photos of the process to show you.  I was kinda out of it this evening, and not really thinking about taking pictures.   Anyway, if you want to try it, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

