Whole Wheat Hoagies

I have baked almost all the bread we have eaten since March.  I try to make low sodium bread and I only use organic stone milled whole wheat flour from Bob’s Red Mill.  I have to be loyal to my home, as the mill was down the street from my old house before moving to Korea, and it is the easiest to get here that I have found.  For months I have been scouring the internet for recipes of 100% whole wheat flour that are light and fluffy.  I had almost given up.  A few weeks ago, when I was out of whole wheat flour, and I actually broke down and bought some white flour for the first time in months.  I could not believe how fluffy it was and I dreamed of my whole wheat bread being so fluffy. I was also blown away by how much yeast one loaf recipe required.  Normally I put in 2 1/4 teaspoons (the amount in one packet) or double that.  This particular white flour recipe called for six tablespoons!  YES SIX!!!!!! and my bread blew up!  It got me wondering if I am a little more generous on the yeast, if my whole wheat dough would puff up more.  I tried a few weeks ago with half white, have wheat flour, and it was okay.  It was still dense, but not nearly as much so as previous whole wheat experiences, and not nearly as fluffy as just white.  So today, I wanted to get a hoagie recipe, because I have intentions of making Philli Cheese Steaks later this week.

I found an easy recipe online that was simple, and I had all of the ingredients, however, it was white flour.  I figured oh well, why do I only have to find ONLY wheat recipes for my wheat flour?  And I tried it!  The recipe I found was at food.com.  I followed the recipe for the most part, only deviating a little.  That is more what I do than make up my own recipes, I deviate from ones other people have made.  My changes were mostly for flavor…

While mixing the wet ingredients, I added 1 tablespoon of garlic bread seasoning, 1/3 cup of finely grated cheddar, and 1/3 a cup of chopped pickled jalapenos.

One more change however was in the amount of yeast.  I figured if that one recipe I made several weeks ago could ask for six tablespoons, It would not kill me to add a little extra to my recipe.  So, instead of 4 1/2 teaspoons of yeast, I would add two tablespoons.  I made sure I had enough time for my dough to rise to it’s full potential, and then baked it.  I have to say, I am highly impressed!  I will admit my rolls are a bit more dense than I was hoping for,  but they are still pretty light and airy compared to past experiences.  I will be making this recipe again, and I have to admit, I might just add a little more yeast and play with it.  Next time, I might make a whole loaf though, not just sandwich rolls.

They do make the perfect size rolls for sandwich rolls, as a breast of chicken fits on one just about perfectly!

Oh, and this bread also makes some pretty incredible toasted garlic bread!!!

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Hoagies

  1. Pingback: Cheese Steaks…not sure sure they are from Philly though | Felkel Foodie

  2. Pingback: Those little Brats! | Felkel Foodie

Leave a Reply

