Banana Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

DSC01868

A few weeks ago, we bought some bananas, but I was on my diet and couldn’t eat them, and my husband wasn’t really in the mood to eat them.  They started to turn black when I came across this recipe.  It is the most simple thing I have ever seen, and it actually worked out beautifully.
All you do is slice up the bananas into 1/4-1/2 inch slices.  Then you freeze them.  The original recipe has some beautiful pictures, and a great explanation, so maybe go check it out.  She froze them flat on a cookie sheet over parchment paper for about two hours.  I actually froze them a few weeks ago, and threw them into a plastic freezer bag and just froze them in a big chunk in the freezer.

This morning I pulled the bananas out of the freezer, and let them thaw for about 15-20 minutes.  Next I threw 1 cup batches into the food processor and chopped and mixed and blended and stirred until it became smooth.  I had about three batches of that, as I had about 5 bananas frozen.

Once all the banana is blended, it turns into an amazing creamy ice cream textured ice cream.  I stirred about 1/3 cup of mini chocolate chips, and threw it back into the freezer.

It is important to blend the bananas frozen, so you get this creamy whipped texture, rather than a banana mash, as you might for banana bread.  It does not seem to have an overwhelming banana flavor, and hey, for someone who can’t eat eggs, and is allergic to milk, it is a perfect solution (if only I liked bananas more)!

This would also be good adding peanut butter, or cocoa powder, etc…any number of add-ins that  can be good with banana.

DSC01867

As for WW points, since bananas are 0 points, and 1/3 of a cup of chocolate chips is 7 points…the entire container of ice cream is 7 points…break that up as you will ;-)

2 thoughts on “Banana Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

    • I was a bit shocked at just how easy it was and the texture is great. I have not eaten more than a bite or two yet, as i put it back into the freezer to harden up a bit. I will post another picture of a bowl once we scoop it. I don’t know why I never thought of this on my own. the one thing about freezing them in slices, rather than just the whole banana is they whip up better, and they don’t thaw into slime quickly…I have had bananas come out of the freezer and turn into slime within minutes. The slices held their shape and color well.

Leave a Reply

